Getting Stuck as a developer!

Getting Stuck as a developer!

Ways I solve problems as a self-taught developer.

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

A few months ago, I was building a FAQ page that got me exhausted as I could not find an easy way to build the code. I abandoned the project after several kinds of research on Google and Stackoverflow, not because I was too lazy to solve it, but because I did not realize I could share my problems in a community.

An image explaining how I ask questions on slack.jpg An image explaining how I ask questions on slack.jpg

A few weeks back, someone posted the same project on a slack platform(Front-end Mentor). She was looking for a solution to the challenge too! People came up with ideas and ways to solve the problem. I also contributed and tried to see if I could solve the problem at my end, with the suggestions raised. At last, I got a solution! I had never asked questions in public or contributed to a discussion before; this was the first time, and it was beautiful.

In like manner, I was working on a taxing project a couple of days ago. As I made progress, more issues started popping up. After several hours of searching on Google and Stackoverflow, I decided to head over to the tech Twitter community (level-up coding and web developers community). I threw in a question, and to my surprise, I got answers in minutes!

community twitter.jpg

comm twitter.jpg

One of the most typical issues developers face is getting stuck.

Dealing with bugs, errors in code, or at times, not knowing how to solve a problem with code Every time I build something new, I write out some steps. In the manner of an algorithm, I write out steps to go about it from the mobile view to the desktop view.

However, I still encounter errors and get stuck along the line. It could be frustrating and annoying, but I appreciate the process because it helps me know the solutions for longer. I discovered that when I reach out to people, I gain a network of people and derive solutions. At first, I was hesitant to post about the issues I was facing because I didn’t want to come off as looking dumb, but I couldn’t think of a better way to look smart. Asking questions not only helps you but also helps others.

Yet, one should not only ask questions but help others by answering questions! Many times I write about these solutions. It helps me keep a track record of my progress and will help me refer to it in the future when I get stuck.

I look forward to your feedback on how you were able to solve your code issues and any suggestions or ways I can improve in the comments.

#week2